Quattro Secoli di Musica a Venezia - Teatro La Fenice


Quattro Secoli di Musica a Venezia
in memory of Mario Messinis
Wed 10.11.2021
Sale Apollinee
Follow us
Sale Apollinee

Contemporary music’ is not a musical genre (in the same way that rock, pop and rap are genres of consumer music). To use a tautology, it is simply music composed in the present day, and it is precisely in order not to fall into the trap of the “specialist musical genre” that it has always been very important for the Ex Novo Ensemble to offer programmes presenting music from different periods. This is the case with Quattro secoli di musica a Venezia (Four centuries of music in Venice), in which the Venetian musical civilisation is recounted in a journey from Gabrieli to the present day, with the ensemble’s identification with its own identity, which has led it to use this programme many times in the most diverse forms, while retaining its original conceptual approach.

Giovanni Gabrieli (1557-1612)
Canzoni per sonar a quattro con ogni sorta di stromenti (1608)
for flute, clarinet, violin and cello


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto in Re maggiore RV92 (1720 ca.)
for flute, violin and cello


Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari (1876-1948)
Introduzione e Balletto op. 35 (1946)
for violin and cello


Bruno Maderna (1920-1973)
Widmung (1967)
for solo violin


Claudio Ambrosini (1948)
“Oh mia Euridice” A fragment (1991)
for clarinet (also contratenor), cello and piano


Stefano Bassanese (1960)
“si si si, no no no” (divertissement in the guise of dance for the 71st birthday of Claudio Ambrosini)*
for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

* Ex Novo Musica Commission

Ex Novo Ensemble

Daniele Ruggieri flute,
Davide Teodoro clarinet,
Carlo Lazari violin,
Carlo Teodoro cello,
Aldo Orvieto piano

Upcoming events

All upcoming events from La Fenice or Malibran Theater

La Fenice use cookies for a better browsing experience