Bach Haus - Teatro La Fenice


Bach Haus

Michele Dall’Ongaro
Malibran Theatre
Malibran Theatre
Select a date:

A one-act intermezzo for three singers and a small chamber ensemble evoking Bach’s family with its many musical talents, to which Nibbio, an impresario in distress, turns in order to have a new opera composed. Musical styles and quotations (not only from Bach, but also from Bizet, Puccini, Bernstein…) follow one another in happy turmoil, featuring an overture, dance steps, and sung numbers in accompanied recitative, arioso, and quasi-aria. A stately citation from the beginning of the Fifth Brandenburg Concerto ends the proceedings. First commissioned in 2000 by Teatro dell’Opera di Roma to composer Michele dall’Ongaro and librettist Vincenzo De Vivo, it has since enjoyed many a revival.

La Fenice new production


the evening will be opened with
Johann Sebastian Bach
Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht BWV 211 (Coffee Cantata)


composerMichele Dall’Ongaro
libretto Vincenzo De Vivo


Orchestra da camera
del Conservatorio Benedetto Marcello di Venezia
Conductor Giovanni Battista Rigon
Director Emanuele Gamba

Upcoming events

All upcoming events from La Fenice or Malibran Theater