Histoire du soldat - Teatro La Fenice


Histoire du soldat

Igor Stravinskij
Malibran Theatre

Histoire du soldat

L’Histoire du soldat (The Soldier’s Tale) is a theatrical work “to be read, played, and danced” (lue, jouée et dansée) by three actors and one or several dancers, accompanied by a septet of instruments. Conceived by Igor Stravinsky and Swiss writer C. F. Ramuz, the piece was based on a Russian folk tale drawn from the collection of Alexander Afanasyev called The Runaway Soldier and the Devil.

The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain. The music is scored for a septet of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, cornet (often played on trumpet), trombone, and percussion, and the story is told by three actors: the soldier, the devil, and a narrator, who also takes on the roles of minor characters. A dancer plays the non-speaking role of the princess, and there may also be additional ensemble dancers.





(italian libretto)

Dancer and Choreography Emanuela Bonora
Costumes Marta Del Fabbro
Lighting Fabio Barettin


Actor and Director Francesco Bortolozzo
Conductor Alessandro Cappelletto


La Fenice production

La Fenice Orchestra soloists

Roberto Baraldi violin, Matteo Liuzzi double bass, Simone Simonelli clarinet, Ai Ikeda bassoon, Guido Guidarelli trumpet, Giuseppe Mendola trombone, Claudio Cavallini percussions

La durata dello spettacolo è di 1 ora senza intervallo

Upcoming events

All upcoming events from La Fenice or Malibran Theater